Hey, Tony


Tony Hey is a fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Association for Computing Machinery, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. At the University of Southampton, UK, his Parallel Computing research group designed and built one of the first distributed memory messaging computers using innovative Inmos transponders. He then headed the electronics and computer science department at Southampton and was dean of the engineering faculty. In 2005, he received a CBE for service to science after leading the UK's eScience initiative.

After 10 years as Corporate Vice President for Technical Computing at Microsoft in the United States, he returned to the United Kingdom and since 2015 has served as Chief Data Scientist at the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory at STFC. He was one of the initiators of the MPI message passing standard in 1992 and was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award 2019 by the International Open Benchmark Council. In 2020, he chaired a US Department of Energy subcommittee that explored "the opportunities and challenges of artificial intelligence and machine learning for the advancement of science and technology" or , shorthand, "AI for Science".

Tony Hey is also the co-author of three popular science and computer science books - "The New Quantum Universe", "Einstein's Mirror" and "The Computing Universe" - as well as the famous graduation book "Gauge Theories in Particle Physics ”with Ian Aitchison. He has just finished writing a new edition of "The Feynman Lectures on Computation".